Child Development

Key Stage 4 - Cambridge National Certificate in Child Development

The new Level 1/2 Cambridge National Certificate in Child Development closely follows the format of the GCSE. It has been designed to fit into the curriculum and form a key part a student’s Progress 8 and Attainment 8 approved subjects. It consists of three units: one examined and two internally assessed and externally moderated, comprising 50% for the exam and 25% for the other two units. There are two exam sessions a year, with opportunities for re- sits and the best mark counts.

Short task (25%)

  • This is completed at the end of Year 10
  • Students are required to research and identify a range of equipment and feeding solutions for children 0- 5 years.
  • This is completed in class with the opportunity to attend after school catch up sessions.

Topics covered are:

  • Research of equipment for 0-5 years
  • Nutritional needs 0-5 years
  • Investigation task

Child study (25%)

  • This is completed in Year 11.
  • Students will need to access a child aged 1-5 years to carry out two observations.
  • Students research areas of development and plan a range of suitable activities for their target child to complete.
  • Observations are carried out by the student when the target child completes the planned activity.
  • This is completed in class with the opportunity to attend after school catch up sessions.

Topics covered are:

  • Understanding developmental expectations 0-5 years
  • Understanding the benefits of play
  • Plan, implement and evaluate activities.

Exam (50%)

  • The exam element covers a range of topics. 
  • Students will need to be confident with terminology and all topic subjects taught in class.
  • Questions can are marked ranging from 1- 8 marks. 
  • There are a range of short answer questions and essay based questions.

Topics covered are:

  • Reproduction & parenthood
  • Antenatal care & preparation for birth
  • Postnatal checks & development
  • Childhood illness
  • Child Safety

Key Stage 5 - CACHE Child Care & Education

We have the Level 2 and Level 3 Child care and Education within the department; students will complete a range of assignment work and attend placement settings to build up a work based portfolio.

At KES we offer CACHE courses that prepare students for work or university the Level 3 course is equivalent to 3 A Levels. All students attend placement and will work with children 0-5 years at a range of settings. UCAS points are awarded for the course.

Do you wish to follow a career working with children?

  • Primary school teacher
  • Early Years Educator
  • Paediatric nursing
  • Midwife
  • Health visitor

Universities encourage vocational courses that focus on development and learning of babies and children, many require voluntary experience as part of their application process when completing UCAS.

UCAS points from CACHE Child Care and Education Level 3:

  • A* = 112 A= 96 B= 80
  • There are NO exams all work is assessed through coursework.